Writing About Writing

Imagine a world that is occupied by fauns, centaurs, dwarves, talking beavers, a white witch, and a lion that is bridged to our world through a wardrobe. Sound familiar? It’s the Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis. Now picture a castle dedicated to teaching the young generations of the wizarding world. That’s the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling. Next, envision an imaginary period in earth’s past called middle-earth, where humans, hobbits, elves, dwarves, ents, and wizards fight for the survival of their world against the powers of Mordor. That one is The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien, one of the greatest fantasy stories of all time. In every one of these stories, the author has created an epic fantasy world that everyone recognizes. Millions and millions of people have been taken on an adventure and seen the sheer brilliance that resonates with each book through imagination and creativity.

The written word is what drives me. Primarily, fantasy writing is my passion. I’ve always been an avid reader. With fantasy, literally anything is possible. That’s why I love it so much. There are no limitations. When reading a book, I could jump into a world that allows me to forget my own if only for a little while. My imagination could run wild while I thought up characters’ faces and predicted the paths the story could take. It was only natural that I would take up writing myself. With reading, I could let someone else take me on an adventure. With writing, I would get to show the world my own adventures.

I strive to be a fantasy author. Published or not, I want to finish all I start. Right now, I spend much of my spare time writing. In the future, I hope to make it more than just a hobby. I’m in complete control when I’m writing. Unlike the real world, everything works out the way I see fit. Is there any better reason to write than that?

I want you to picture one last place for me. There’s a city that towers above the rural land around it. Most of its buildings are over one-thousand feet high, filled with floor upon floor of people. Outside city limits, open land goes on for miles with a scattering of small houses, endless farmland, the occasional gas station and small store. There’s no middle ground in this land. There’s the city and there’s the outside.

The city people are afraid of what’s on the outside. For not the reasons they think, but for a good reason none-the-less. The people on the outside, Watchers, they’re dangerous and they’re not fans of tall buildings and large crowds. They’re the reason the city keeps building upward instead of outward. However, the city people have been working on a weapon to fight back and they’ve finally succeeded. This weapon is a group of people called Shadows and they’re the only chance humans have to gain new freedom. Drawing a blank? That’s because this one is my story, my very own world and I’m the one that gets to decide if it could reach millions too.

2 thoughts on “Writing About Writing

  1. I love fantasy and scifi. My head was always in a book when I was a child. I don’t get to read as much as I would like these days.

    • I happen to be starting a sci-fi and fantasy lit class this quarter and have been reading most of my spare time recently. I know what you mean about not being able to read as much as you want to though. Sometimes life gets pretty hectic! Well, I hope you find some good time to read in the future. I’m afraid that avid readers are a dying breed just by looking at the younger generations. I have to say, it’s a fear that really scares me.

Leave a Reply

